Dumping the poop tank :(

20150906_134942

At some point or another, if you have a home on wheels, you will have to deal with your waste. Many people are choosing compost toilets over standard flush toilets, and that’s awesome. Its something that I considered, but since we were plumbing water anyway, we decided to install an RV flush toilet. My dad and I chose to go with a single 32 gallon waste tank, to hold the black water, which is your personal waste, as well as the gray water, which consists of your shower and sink water.

20150818_084941

On the nearly 3 month road trip through 30 states, getting rid of the waste tank, also known as dumping, was not as much of an issue as I thought it would be. But when I couldn’t find a dump station, it became a bit of a problem.

I didn’t spend much time at campgrounds with a full hook up (water, sewer, electric) but when I did, that became my opportunity to shower, cook bigger meals and be able to wash all the dishes as well as making sure that the plumbing is all flushed through. When I was on the road, I used an app to find dump stations. The app seems to be a little older, and wasn’t very accurate. I would get to the gas station that was listed as a dump station, and they don’t offer that service any longer. I would drive out of my way to get to a rest stop that was listed on the app, just to pull in to read the sign “No Dumping Available at this Rest Site.” So I kept looking and driving.

20150906_122035

On the 2 or 3 times when I really needed to dump, I considered going to a campground just to dump, or ask if they wouldn’t mind if I used their facility. At one point I was willing to pay the daily fee at a campground just to be able to dump the tank. The odor from the tank crept into the bus, and I just didn’t want anything to spill in through the plumbing. This was when I kept water use to a minimum on the bus. I would use facilities whenever I would stop. Basically, really needed to dump the tank.

I don’t have meters installed on the tank, so I kind of have to remember how many times I have showered, done the dishes, gone to the bathroom, and so forth. I only have that 32 gallon combined tank, but a 40 gallon fresh water tank. There is a bit of an odor that comes out of the vent when it’s getting full. I haven’t had any spillage issues whatsoever. There was only 1 time that I paid for dumping, and it was $10 at a gas station. I was kind of ticked off that I came here, to pay $10 when its free at several rest stops in a couple states and other places. But! Right across the street was an International Truck Repair and Sales. I needed a new filter for a leak that I was having, and because the app finally lead me to this gas station, I was able to take care of the engine at the same time. Worked out perfect.

Parked at my friend’s house, I bought myself a 32 gallon travel dump tank, so that the bus can remain parked, and I take the portable tank to get dumped. Pulling around 32 gallons of waste water is quite a workout in itself. Perhaps ill create an e-book on staying fit by keeping a Skoolie road worthy and free of poop.

20150908_134133

Make it a great day 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

