I lived in Florida for 16 years, and was extremely excited when I was finally ready and able to leave for Seattle, Washington. I told myself that I would not move back to Florida ever, if not for a long time. Fast forward to the other night, where I began writing this blog, from Florida. It’s for a really great reason though.

Moving back to Florida is allowing me to spend some time with my closest friends. They recently bought their house, and one of the prerequisites was that it was big enough for my bus to park comfortably. So for the 11 days, I have been parking in their driveway, in the middle of nowhere Florida. It’s starting to get cooler, which I cannot wait for. When I left on the road trip, Vegas was super hot. Then California was a little less super hot. Washington was hot. I followed heat all the way to Colorado, then I froze my butt off the first night in New York. Then it was hot all the way down the east coast. So basically, for the entire road trip, I knowingly yet as unplanned as it was, followed the heat up and across America. I don’t actually love it when the inside of the bus is over 100 degrees. But, it’s all worth it at the end of the day. I have no rent to pay, no mortgage, and a home where ever I am.

Its been a little different the past week, not having driven the bus at all. This past week has been a total immersion into my friend’s life. I have done things I never thought of ever doing or being able to do. On Sunday, we went to Hornsby Springs near Gainesville, Florida and we were researching the turtle population at the spring. They have been declining the past few years. Never thought I would be holding so many different species of turtles and finding out their claw sizes, the age marks they get on their underside, which is like the idea of counting rings on a tree. It was a truly amazing experience to be able to number and study the turtles.

 

I’ve also been heavily involved in the local Bonsai culture. It’s amazing to meet the people who, year after year, tend to these tiny trees. They have a desire to understand more about these wonderful gifts from nature. They truly share a bond I have never seen. Keeping a tree styled, trimmed, healthy and looking beautiful takes quite a bit of work and effort. It also takes a lot of patience, and lots of time. But from what I have learned from the smiles on people’s faces, and the stories of how and when they got their first tree, it truly is time well spent. These Bonsai trees are living, ever-changing works of art.

I really love the bus and what it has allowed me to do. I am especially happy of the fact that I have the chance to meet people who love what they do, and are leading lives filled with love and passion. They love their life and what they do, and want to share that love, passion and excitement with people. It’s a beautiful thing, to love how you spend your time.

What are you passionate about?

