Every now and again I stumble across something so profound, it shatters my world view. A painting, a piece of stained glass, a movie, book; everything impacts me. Poems leave vivid memories, books allow me to intimately meet another person’s mind.

Most of all music, especially the human voice, leave deep emotional impressions in me. One song always reminds me that we are all living a “Groundhog’s Day-Life.” We repeat the same things over and over. We are ALWAYS on the Eve of Destruction. Isn’t that right Barry?

Are you upset about a war? That has happened every generation. Hate over there? There was hate over there back then. Trying to legalize? That has been going on forever. In America, you can go to another country, never having flown before, to attack and terrorize people you’ve never met. Back at home, you cannot legally drink a beer. It will also cost you more to rent a car if you are under 25. None of it makes any sense. Repeat the next day.

“Turn on your TV’s, because there’s fake news out there!!!” you hear on the night stand radio every morning. “Awww damn it, TODAY AGAIN?!”

I don’t have much to laugh at anymore. ‘Can’t you feel the fears I’m feeling today?’ Everywhere I look people are yelling at each other and not listening. Human respect is disintegratin’. People write mean things to each other whenever they can. What is the deal? What are we doing? This nonsense needs to be corrected. Communicating is talking and LISTENING. Marches alone can’t bring integration.

“Oh, you have an opinion, cool, here is mine.” Says one person to another person.

“Hrm, that is an interesting opinion. I don’t share your view, let’s still be friends because arguing a point that realistically means nothing, is completely meaningless and repeats itself every day and generation after that. Let us not continue this way. Let us put our opinions aside and work on spreading love. Thanks friend.” Responds the person.

“I love you. Make it a great day.” Says the other person.

Both people still have their valid opinion. Neither one is going to be swayed by a SINGLE conversation. If you really want people to listen to you and see your view, you need to open a dialogue and communicate. Either way, now you have a friend. If anything, you had a positive interaction. After this cool and positive interaction, that person will go see his friends and family. They will most likely share their view point. Person is going to tell them this story:

“Hey friends and family, I love you people. Guess what? I met this person today. They didn’t share our views, but were actually really awesome. What really impacted me, is that the person told me that they loved me. Out of nowhere I blurted out “I love you too person.” I felt it. They had a different opinion but that’s totally awesome. Goes to show, you can learn something from anyone. We could make it a point to see what other people’s views are, and accepting them how they are. Being especially mindful and careful to remain calm when their views are far away from ours.”

“That sounds awesome. I like your opinion on this. Love ya.” Says the person.

That person blurts this out lovingly to his tribe, his community members, friends and family. It spreads.

Alright. Alright. Alright.

What I see in this song, the message, and what I am seeing in America is:

“I can’t twist the truth, it knows no regulation”

The truth will come out. It is the only thing that is certain. Don’t fight each other, collectively investigate the truth. Ask questions. Talk to each other. What is it you don’t like? Find other people who share the same views and start communicating. Find ways to help each other, not continue this senseless violence and hatred. What are we doing people? ‘Hate your next door neighbor, but don’t forget to say grace?’ What is happening? We need to discuss options not opinions.

This song was released in 1964. 1964! Listening to the song and analyzing the lyrics, this song could have been released yesterday and I wouldn’t question its time frame.

Enjoy. I Love all of you.

*Please talk to each other*

Eve of Destruction by Barry Mcguire.

The eastern world, it is explodin’,
Violence flarin’, bullets loadin’,
You’re old enough to kill but not for votin’,
You don’t believe in war, but what’s that gun you’re totin’,
And even the Jordan river has bodies floatin’,
But you tell me over and over and over again my friend,
Ah, you don’t believe we’re on the eve of destruction.

Don’t you understand, what I’m trying to say?
And can’t you feel the fears I’m feeling today?
If the button is pushed, there’s no running away,
There’ll be no one to save with the world in a grave,
Take a look around you, boy, it’s bound to scare you, boy,
And you tell me over and over and over again my friend,
Ah, you don’t believe we’re on the eve of destruction.

Yeah, my blood’s so mad, feels like coagulatin’,
I’m sittin’ here, just contemplatin’,
I can’t twist the truth, it knows no regulation,
Handful of Senators don’t pass legislation,
And marches alone can’t bring integration,
When human respect is disintegratin’,
This whole crazy world is just too frustratin’,
And you tell me over and over and over again my friend,
Ah, you don’t believe we’re on the eve of destruction.

Think of all the hate there is in Red China!
Then take a look around to Selma, Alabama!
Ah, you may leave here, for four days in space,
But when your return, it’s the same old place,
The poundin’ of the drums, the pride and disgrace,
You can bury your dead, but don’t leave a trace,
Hate your next door neighbor, but don’t forget to say grace,
And you tell me over and over and over and over again my friend,
You don’t believe we’re on the eve of destruction.

No, no, you don’t believe we’re on the eve of destruction.

Written by P. F. Sloan • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group

